Major help with IAT Temperatures

94tbird

4R70W FTMFW
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
I have been chasing this bitch ass gremlin of a problem for 2+ years and I just cant seem to figure it all out.

Ever since my motor swap (coincidentally the 2.4 KB to the 2.6H KB as well) I have been battling extremely high IAT temperatures. Temperatures that make me think? Is there even an intercooler on this damed car.

For some background, Stock motor, with a KB 2.4 at 10psi, stock KB coolant tank, Lightning Intercooler Pump, and a gords ford performance heat exchanger. I never saw over 118 degree IAT temperatures even after 3 back to back to back Dyno runs with no cooldown. Temperatures were always rock solid and i just never had a single issue. Car coolant temps would reach about 190 after a quarter mile pass TOPS even with the heat outside.

Since then i have had a couple of different setups:

1a. 6 gallon tank in the trunk, meziere remote water pump, gords HE. Had the lines gonig from tank to Intercooler, to hE back to tank, so when running ice, the coldest fluid would goto the SC first.
1b. Rerouted hoses to a factory setup, tank to HE to SC
1c. Moved pump lower than tank to combat starvation issues

2. 6 gallon insulated trunk tank, insulated hoses, Killer Chiller, Meziere remote water pump

3. Canton 1 gallon insulated tank, insulated lines, Killer Chiller, FRPP Lightning pump, Industrial 12 in place of R134a for a colder charge.

***All temps are IAT temps***

With setup 1a with no ice, I would see temps between 130-150 all the time on the street. Track temps would see over 190 and even saw over 200 degrees at a few points at the end of a quarter mile. Adding Ice would get my starting temps at the line to around 75-79 degrees but at the end of a run, I would still see 150-170. Every now and then the water pump would cavitate itself and i would have to bleed it.