Newbie to buffers and sealant

cm581978

forum member
Reaction score
Normally, I use Meguairs Nxt by hand to wax my car, but I feel that just half asses that. Should I be using a sealant afterwards? If I wear to buy a buffer, what pads would I need for both waxing and sealant?

wicked stang

forum member
Reaction score
sealant would go on before the wax. dont really need a buffer for just sealant/wax but more for polishing and correcting. im sure someone will have good pad recommendations though as I only use the buffer for polishing most of the time.

Mystickeith50

forum member
Reaction score
I am no expert at all. One thing I found is to make sure the car is properly cut down before application. Since my car stays relatively clean I will just clay it prior. If it is heavily soiled I will use my porter cable da polisher to really get at it and remove small imperfections. Also the meguires is not that great. I use bfwd paint sealant put on by hand. I get 6-8 months out of it.

HitandRunDriver

Amateur Goon
Reaction score
If you were to buy a buffer I'd recommend the standard Porter Cable XP7424 or the Griots Garage Orbital buffer. To get the most out of these units you'll want to get low profile pads such as the hydrotech low profile 5.5 inch pads in crimson for wax/sealants, orange for mild to moderate buffing, and cyan for heavily swirled paint. People have their preferences on wax/sealants but I've been using Chemical guys Blacklight topped with Lava.

cm581978

forum member
Reaction score
So obviously first wash the car, then sealant, wax and finally polish with a buffer? Or do I have my order mixed up?

sealant would go on before the wax. dont really need a buffer for just sealant/wax but more for polishing and correcting. im sure someone will have good pad recommendations though as I only use the buffer for polishing most of the time.

cm581978

forum member
Reaction score