Painting your own wheels the right way

itsslow

forum member
Reaction score
Some members off the forum are asking me for instructions on painting wheels, if you saw my last thread you'll know what I mean. Please have patience with me, as I'm not too good with giving instructions or educating people.

What you need:

Small air compressor

Compressed Air Paint gun

A pint of whatever paint you choose (A pint was just enough for my wheels and I did about 5 coats)

Paint reducer

Clear (You're going to use about a cup and a half)

Paint Hardener

6 of the 350 sand paper

10 of the 1000 sand paper

5 Colored towels

Wax and tar remover (From autozone right next to the paint and
laquer thinner, come in a black bottle like buffing compound)

Paint mixing stick

About 10 large foam cups

Purple Power (Autozone)

Almost everything can be bought at a car's paint store. If you don't know of one, call a local body shop and ask. I know a body shop can mix the paint for you, but I doubt they'll sell you the hardener and reducer.

YOU MUST TAKE YOUR TIME AND HAVE PATIENCE, IT TOOK ME THREE DAYS TO DO MY WHEELS AND I'M NOT COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS!

Instructions:

I had wheels that were mildly scratched, but I wanted the best out of it. If you have a wheel that has deep scratches, I can't help you. Take it to the body shop and have them fill the scratches for you.

Go over the scratches with 350 sand paper until you can no longer feel the scratch, after you got all the scratches out, wet sand (Soap and water) the WHOLE wheel with 1000, and you have to do it well or the paint will not stick. Make sure you don't miss any spots!

Spray some degreaser (Preferably purple power) on the wheels, and scrub the wheels really good with a brush and then pressure wash. Make sure they are COMPLETELY dry, I'd let the sit over night!