Building my own forged wheels.

rad_rob

forum member
Reaction score
So for my full time job, I work as a CNC programmer/machinist. I have been doing it for a while now, and along the way, a lot of projects have come across my desk. The shop that I run is a pretty big shop, and I am lucky enough to be able to use it whenever I need to. So on top of my full time job, I also take on my own side work making custom one-off prototype parts for people, or even just parts for myself. I have always wanted to get into machining a custom set of wheels, and a couple of weeks ago, I had the oppurtunity brought to me.

A local shop down the street from my current job specializes in machining 2-piece, 3-piece, and forged monoblocks for private label companies. The owner recently lost his programmer, and a buddy of mine who owns his own wheel brands and uses this shop to make some of his wheels, had thrown my name out there. I went in for a meeting to show what I could do, and we basically started working together that night. I was asked to come up with a super simple design and machine it, so we could kind of work together. He can show me how he runs things, and I can show him I know what I'm doing. So I came up with just a basic design. I started out by modeling up the wheel in Solidworks.

gXx6JlA.png

iDlok6s.png

9nRCw0a.png

Like I said, just something pretty simple. So we started off by maching the offset, hub diameter, and undercut into the back of a forged monoblock. Once the backside was done, we flipped it around to machine the center cap detail, and then the overall profile of the wheel. This was a preexisting program that we were using on the profile, so its nothing fancy. I only took a couple of pictures since we do things pretty quickly. This is just a picture of the wheel after we machined the profile.

8rOU3el.jpg