Degreeing Cams

Bullitt6301

forum member
Reaction score
So, I am having issues getting my cams to time right. I have the VCT locked out and I cannot seen to get the timing right. I have set it to the marks but it is showing in the fuel trims that I have a lean bank. I have been messing around with the timing of each head but cannot seem to get it right. It is not a O2 sensor issue as I have already double checked that. I have got one of the heads to read correct but now I have a head running really lean. I felt the headers after it was running and the passenger head is burning up vs. the driver which is cooler. I have heard that with the lockouts I might have to degree the cams? Any suggestions? Thanks.

dysan

Dis-Member
Reaction score
I have been running lockouts for 3 years and have not had to degree my cams. This is with both stock cams and my current 127300 cams which were within .5 degrees of comps's specs when I did check them when building my current engine.

Did you take the entire front cover off to re-time your engine or are you just messing with the heads and cam gears? From the sounds of it you really should take the front timing cover off and start from scratch.

EDIT:Did you make sure both lockouts are installed the same? What I mean is that one isn't installed advanced and one retard?

Last edited:

Bullitt6301

forum member
Reaction score
Yes I made sure the lockouts are installed correctly. I just built the whole motor and I have had the cover off so many times I am just trying to not have to remove it but I am probably just going to remove it today. Thanks just PITA with the turbo.

Bullitt6301

forum member
Reaction score