Spring/strut combo

jake_zx2

forum member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am planning on upgrading to eiback sportline lowering srings sometime soon, and I was just wondering if anyone has any experience on the best strut to run with these. I'm trying not to go through struts every 10k miles, so I want something that will perform well and also last long (adjustability would be nice, but isn't a must). I was looking at either the ford racing shock/strut kit or simply koni yellows. Any preference between the 2? Any better options out there?

jake_zx2

forum member
Reaction score
Oh, forgot to add, I plan on road racing, not drag. And I also plan to get lca, uca, sway bar, and panhard bar to complement suspension

MechE

forum member
Reaction score
I have no experience with these springs but my research on this forum has steered me away from them. As far as I can tell eibach makes a good product but these springs don't have the rate to keep our cars off the bumpstops for how far they lower the car.

jake_zx2

forum member
Reaction score
Oh really? their spring rate is pretty close to the eibach pro's, so I didn't think it would be that bad, especially with stiffer damping... that's a shame if its true though, I really like the ride height with the sportlines

MechE

forum member
Reaction score
Oh really? their spring rate is pretty close to the eibach pro's, so I didn't think it would be that bad, especially with stiffer damping... that's a shame if its true though, I really like the ride height with the sportlines

Well, if they are only as stiff as the pro's then that is a problem. If you are lowering the car more, you would need to address the reduced compression travel, and the increased roll. One way would be to increase spring rate.

Also, what is your application? Is this mostly a track car?

nbk13nw

forum member
Reaction score
My first set were the Sport lines and Ford Racing struts. The stance was awesome but the ride was awful. This was on a 2005 GT.