Etchings in paint

dugstang

forum member
Reaction score
I bought a 2001 bullitt and am trying to do a 2 stage paint correction on it. The hood and roof have a lot of water etchings and small pin holes in the clear. I've already hit it with an orange pad and m105. Im afraid to go any more aggressive as I'm still a newbie at this. I'll attach an image and see what you guys think. I was using a PC with orange 6" pad. Im thinking I might need a 4" or a wool pad but like I said I'm afraid of going more aggressive as the etchings appear deep.

dugstang

forum member
Reaction score
20150831_203537_zps0tjxirq6.jpg

Zoom in on the amber reflection, you can kinda see what I'm talking about. I will try to take better pictures later today when I get home. If zooming doesn't work pm me your number I can text you the picture if you care to take a peek.

28ONE

Reaction score
If you hit with an Orange pad and M105 - etchings are deep. How many passes are you making 6-8? Downward pressure?

dugstang

forum member
Reaction score
6 to 8 up and down side to side. Enough pressure to hear an rpm change. I think a smaller pad would cut better but like I said I'm a little scared to take paint off the car

28ONE

Reaction score
What size pad are you using? Do you know if the paint has been polished before?
Maybe you didn't have enough downward pressure: 1-2 considerable pressure, 3-4 let up some, 5-6 let up some more, 7-8 just a little pressure.

Also, the area you work on should be 2'x2'

dugstang

forum member
Reaction score
Its a 6" or 6.5. Dont think it's been polished before. I did the passes exactly how you're describing. I just don't think the pad is moving enough, I got a little better results with a microfiber applicator by hand

28ONE

Reaction score
For the PC 5.5" pad is best. Did you put a mark with a sharpie on the BP so you can tell it's spinning? I got the PC used it once and immediately got the Flex3401, night and day difference but it's expensive.

dugstang

forum member