Methanol Injection, who's using it?

Al Guapo

forum member
Reaction score
Decided to throw caution into the wind and just do it.

Just ordered the snow stage 2 kit from American Muscle. I'm very excited to see what kind of gains this will get me!

Why?

Not exactly a dyno king with 400/420 @9psi, 14 degrees, 11:5 A/F (92 degrees in August)

I hear detonation on 80+ degree days. Especially with partial throttle.

If anyone is using methanol please tell me your experiences.

After this mod I may have to start thinking about ditching the stock tires and driveshaft.

95ragtop

forum member
Reaction score
Detonation is no bueno man, especially if you're hearing it at partial throttle. Do you have an intercooler? I have no personal experience, just what my Tuner has told me. He suggested to only use it to cool and not use it solely as an octane booster because if the pump fails then you are still using the timing programmed. Where is you're iat sensor and you're maf?

Steedman07

Classified's Moderator:)
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Many many threads on this. I have used it for 2 years now and love it.

lostsoul

2014 vett or 2015 stang..
Reaction score
do a search.. I did a complete write up on it a few months ago..

The tuners for some reason decided not to raise the hp at all for me though =-/.. but at least I shouldn't blow up.

HellsBells

620/677
Reaction score
I don't run methanol on my mustang but I have on other cars.

Using a 50/50 mix, and a progressive spray up to 11psi, I gained ~15whp from just having the spray turned on (not tuned for it, 1.8L supercharged 4 banger). I think you made the right choice going with meth injection. No real reason not to use it.

Whatever you do, don't buy the "boost juice" or whatever they sell. Find a local race shop and just buy meth from the pump. Where I am, it costs about $7/gallon (a little high).

5.SLOW

Reaction score