Tires too wide?

hastethedav

forum member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I purchased my first set of wheels and tires from American Muscle

http://www.americanmuscle.com/charcoalamr-19x85-0513-nittoinvo-stan.html

And i was told that they would fit my car (they called me to double check the tire size before shipping) and it turns out they dont fit quite as expected.

The wheel sticks out past my fender and whenever i hit a little bump or dip the wheels rub up against my fender.

Heres the fender (clumps of rubber are getting all over the place as well)
img0808dg.jpg

and heres the tire showing where it keeps wearing away at it

img0806xn.jpg

Are there any solutions I have besides having to buy a new set of tires?
Sorry if this is a stupid question, im new to the whole tire and wheel business and thats why i ordered a mounted set in the first place, hoping to avoid issues like this haha.

Any help would be great!

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Car lowered?

Only one side rubbing?

Adj panhard bar?

I bet the axle is not centered.

BAKnBLK2010

Harley Davidson FLHTCI
Reaction score
Several things here. Those wheels are 30mm offset and 8.5 inches wide. First American Muscle should not be putting 285's on a 8.5" wide wheel. To make those wheels work on the rear of a lowered S197 you would have to run a 255 tire so they wouldn't stick out and rub. I would ask for a refund as they are selling a combo that's just stupid IMHO.

hastethedav

forum member
Reaction score
It is lowered, both sides are rubbing pretty bad.

I was going to get the allignment done this week, but i dont want to if I am going to have to change out the wheels again and have to pay twice

r0ng5

forum member
Reaction score
i rub... ridiculously. but that's the look i'm going for. Good luck!

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score