Wideband Question

Pop'stang

Reaction score
First off, I'm no expert when it comes to wideband gauges or any other gauges for that matter. So I finished the install of an AEM analog wideband and oil pressure gauge this weekend and I'm not sure that the wideband is acting like it should.

You can see on the video that the needle is constantly moving back and forth. At idle it moves slowly and at cruising speed it does the same but faster. Is that normal? If it is, what value am I suppose to read? I tought that at cruising speed the needle would settle on lets say 14.5 + / - a few tenths. Anyway I'm just asking to make sure tat it's all good.

Thanks,

Patrick

video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHqhH37LLMU

Last edited by a moderator:

G.T

Reaction score
that doesn't look right... the AFR should hover between ~14 and ~15 while idle, and drop as you go into part throttle, then lean out (16+) as you lift off, then settle back to ~14-15

ideally it should hover around 14.7 while idle and not continually sweep like yours does.

i'd check the voltage from the wideband sensor and see if it's also fluctuating as drastically as the gauge is, which could suggest a bad sensor.. if not, then the gauge (or the wiring to the gauge) is to blame..

out of curiosity, where is your wideband AFR sensor mounted?

dmhines

KONA GT
Reaction score
It shold settle down while cruising under load. There is no load revving in neutral. Mine bounce around 15 at idle

Pop'stang

Reaction score
that doesn't look right... the AFR should hover between ~14 and ~15 while idle, and drop as you go into part throttle, then lean out (16+) as you lift off, then settle back to ~14-15

ideally it should hover around 14.7 while idle and not continually sweep like yours does.

i'd check the voltage from the wideband sensor and see if it's also fluctuating as drastically as the gauge is, which could suggest a bad sensor.. if not, then the gauge (or the wiring to the gauge) is to blame..