'08 4.0L Exhaust Setup Question

GreyHounds

Reaction score
Hey all,

New member to the forum but I've been here reading for quite some time. Finally looking to revamp the exhaust system for my car. My ideal setup is a set of longtubes into an H pipe, while keeping it catted. I'm a CA resident, so custom exhaust work is unfortunately out of the question. After much searching, the only H pipe i've found at all is Kook's catted H, which states that it only bolts up to Kook's long tubes. What combinations of long tubes and H pipes have you guys seen or had success with?

This whole thing could be done with if I decided to go with an X or Y but I'm still holding out.

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
From what I’ve read no LT header is CARB compliant

My .02. Save ya money for a V8

GreyHounds

Reaction score
Not too worried about CARB. Getting around emissions testing isn't half as hard as you'd think.

Benwhite911

V6'ing & Dealing With It
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
You could try a set of Pacesetters with Pypes high flow cats. Pacesetter and Pypes have an H-pipe, and you might have to take a couple of inches off of the H, but the combination would work.

GreyHounds

Reaction score
You could try a set of Pacesetters with Pypes high flow cats. Pacesetter and Pypes have an H-pipe, and you might have to take a couple of inches off of the H, but the combination would work.
Ain't hard. But ain't cheap either. Are headers worth the head ache on a V6? Not trying to be a dick. Legitimately curious.
I'm leaning toward something pretty close to that combo, might use mac headers to make sure they work right with the prochamber (close enough to an H pipe and avoids the hassle)
I'm gunning for longtubes because the next step is slapping an X-Charger on the car, and I'd like to be able to run lower boost while keeping the gains up. Appreciate the responses all.

GreyHounds

Reaction score