FINALLY!!!

Hawgman

THE fucking bad guy
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
I am sure several of you remember the issue I have been having with the car leaning out at random times and the drivers front O2 sensor reading way lean while the computer yanks out fuel and it throws rich codes.

Well, last Friday I got the PCM I had on order, got it installed, and been running the car in open loop waiting on time to get back in to the shop. Had an appointment for this morning and spent a few hours of quality time on the dyno with Manny. First thing we did was take the open loop tune I had been running for the past several months and make it closed loop and load it up to see if the issues still existed, changed, remained the same, or whatever. Fire it up and do a little data logging and the issue is gone. A new PCM fixed it!!

Then came time to do the actual tuning. After several pulls Manny finally had it where he was content with it and we called it done. Took it out for a little floggin and data logging and it ran like a spanked ape. Damn sure nice to have it healthy again.

Final results, it put 507 to the wheels. Not too shabby for one of those inferrior Saleen SCs at only 10psi :) Now if I can just keep the damn clutch healthy until next spring. Because I did discover today that the clutch starts slipping around 460 or so ft lbs tq. :furious: That was a little disheartening to say the least. I was REALLY wanting to hit the Motorplex Saturday and see how it does on the track now that it is back to normal. But the last friggin thing I need right now is to get out there and have to have it towed back because I toasted the clutch.

S197 GT

PINK Casting Director
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Insane numbers for your set up bro! Glad you got your issues all worked out finally!

Hawgman

THE fucking bad guy
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Very nice. What's a closed and open loop tune?