Lean Code + Funky AFR readings = Worried (with video)

6605stang

CSM No. 07SGT5687
Reaction score
So at an autocross event a couple weeks back I stopped for gas at a crappy gas station prior and then 15 minutes later, I threw a p171/174 set of codes. Car seemed to be running fine though. Cleared it... it came back. Thought maybe I got some bad gas... putz'd the tank empty, filled with good gas... same thing. And since the beginning I started paying closer attention to my AFR gauge and I'll be honest, it's doing some weird things, but I'm not an expert to say what is SHOULD be reading at all times so I'm a bit confused. What do find odd is that it appears to be going full lean when I go to neutral after throttle (even very little throttle). And at idle it seems to be having a very hard time finding the right spot to rest (presumablely around 14.5). But honestly, this is the first time I've EVER had a potential fuel/lean issue with a car, so I'm (1) freaked out and (2) clueless. Below is a link to some video I took of my wideband gauge while doing some different driving around the neighborhood. Pardon the shakey vertical video, but it's the best I could do.

Thoughts? Ideas of what I need to check/try next?

Peculiar AFR readings and lean codes - YouTube

PS - yes, my oil pressure gauge is disconnected.

Any helpful thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

JR

702GT

S197 Fanatic
Reaction score
What do your fuel trims look like when it's "weird"?

Have you cleaned/recalibrated your wideband O2 or replace it? Always best to double check against a wideband known to be accurate. My wideband is .8 pts off when rich, says 10.8 but it's 11.8 according to dynojet. For some reason it reads nominal and lean conditions just fine. I havent put forth the effort to do what I just preached, but my fuel trims are bang on.

6605stang

CSM No. 07SGT5687
Reaction score
What do your fuel trims look like when it's "weird"?