local debate on cold air...

KoolerSL2

Serve and Protect
Reaction score
wanted some input from the more experience tuning guys when it comes to cold air kits ect...
the local debate is that the 2010+ factory cold air ducting has to have extra tuning to compensate for the extra available air being introduced.

2 local guys are trying to fab up a so called "Ram-Air" from the front bumper to their CAI filter area trying to keep cold air available and not suck engine temp air at speed. i for see tuning issues with a weird MAF signal but im no tuning expert.

whats everyone weigh in on this?

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
If using the stock MAF - and stock size tube no tuning should be needed

to everyone else... yes it's weak tech

KoolerSL2

Serve and Protect
Reaction score
stock maf's but 1 has the Airaid other has JLT3.
so tubing sizes are 101mm? and 110mm?

irishpwr46

Official Site Vandal
Reaction score
any air forced through the mass air meter will be registered and accounted for. and it wont be a ram air, more like a fresh air inlet. ram air is forced through the intake through ah outside inlet. unless they make some sort of a sealed box to contain all the air coming in from their "ram" inlet, it is only a fresh air inlet. how bad are their IATs that theyre concerned about this?

Last edited:

Pentalab

forum member
Reaction score
What really works good on the 2010-2012 cars is replacing the oem upper grille.. with the 7 bar grille. (fog lamp delete at the same time). That alone will eliminate 2 x 90 deg bends into the..."snorkel" that in turn feeds air into the airbox.