14 GT with Long tube headers Tuned?

Jacob Nolen

Reaction score
Hey all,
A while back I bought a 14 mustang gt with kooks long tube headers and HFC. I’ve been driving it for about 6 months now and noticed that when I fill up with 91+ my Mpg skyrockets. Before on 83 I would get 16mpg, maybe 17mpg but now it’s about 20mpg. I have also noticed a bit more power when using 91.

With the car having Long Tube Headers being installed by previous owner, would that warrant a tune? Is there a good way to tell if it is tuned aside from trying to see if some of the factory limiters (rpm/mph) are removed like most tune do?

I know I probably should have asked the dealer if it has been tuned before I bought the car, but here we are!

Thanks!

86GT351

forum member
Reaction score
Hey all,
A while back I bought a 14 mustang gt with kooks long tube headers and HFC. I’ve been driving it for about 6 months now and noticed that when I fill up with 91+ my Mpg skyrockets. Before on 83 I would get 16mpg, maybe 17mpg but now it’s about 20mpg. I have also noticed a bit more power when using 91.

With the car having Long Tube Headers being installed by previous owner, would that warrant a tune? Is there a good way to tell if it is tuned aside from trying to see if some of the factory limiters (rpm/mph) are removed like most tune do?

I know I probably should have asked the dealer if it has been tuned before I bought the car, but here we are!

Thanks!
It most likely has a tune currently. Is there a check engine light on?

UpAllNight91

Reaction score