Amateur Mechanic and Machanic Lien

The06StangGuy

Reaction score
Hi guys! I've recently bought a 06 4.0 Mustang and I'm coming to y'all with some doubts. I'm an international student in Texas, so I don't know much.
I tried working with an amateur mechanic which promised the world at a good price.
Now I got my car back 'cause I needed to travel, and the car came so much worse, I can't describe my grief when I look at it (he clearly drove it around, it came all dirty inside and with multiple SCRATCHES on the paint - and he didn't even complete what he had to do, which was to fix my side fender after someone hit-and-ran).
I paid half in the beginning and would pay half when the job is completed, but he is asking for the money right now so that his shop is not closed, and then telling me if I don't pay he will put a mechanic's lien on me.
  1. Can he do this? What can I do? I've basically paid much more than he has yet done.
  2. And about the scratches and damaged car, is there something I can do without paying thousands on a lawyer? I'm guessing it's probably my word against his, and I'm screwed.
Last question:
On the 2 images are the intake filter I had and the filter he installed, saying it's a much better one.
Honestly, I don't understand much about cars, sorry about that. But the one he put simply seems older, maybe he just used mine on his car and gave me an older one. He talked about the "new" one being bigger, which is better, but it seems pretty used.
3. What do you guys think?
old-one-png.792269

img_5747-jpeg.792268

Thanks for your time and attention!

Best regards,

Mike

Dino Dino Bambino

I have a red car
Reaction score
Do yourself a big favour and replace that junky hot air intake with the original air filter assembly. It flows plenty enough air for a 4.0 that makes peak HP at just 5300rpm.
As for the rest, I'm not sure but someone will chime in and offer some sage advice.

JimC

Reaction score