V6 Dual Exhaust

5.0H

forum member
Reaction score
Alrights guys so I recently got GT bumpers so the next step is going to be dual exhaust. I want to do a full exhaust, headers and all. Does anyone have any ideas or good experience with V6 catted dual exhaust. I don't want to be piecing together random pieces and hoping for a good sound. Thoughts, comments?

redstangs9308gt

forum member
Reaction score
keep the y pipe and split off of the end of the Y back into dual. I have noticed that for some reason it helps with the sixxer sound. Others may have different thoughts on it but with my 08 wifes car and her 01 work car (3.8-4.0) I have noticed that this has been true. Mufflers well ask 5 people and you will get 5 different answers. Headers ??? don't know there I have no experience with headers on a v6.

Last edited:

ford20

forum member
Reaction score
Shortie Headers ... Long Tubes are to much for a DD and even on long drives will be to much

Stock Cats ... Hi Flow or gutted Cats don't generally sound to good

I have an X-Pipe on my car as well as FR500S mufflers and they are pretty loud and have a really nice deep tone to them (for a sixxer at least)

redstangs9308gt

forum member
Reaction score
I had a H and X on before and I had alot of raspy sound. Do you notice any raspyness with your X?

ford20

forum member
Reaction score
With the GTBs I had on there wasn't really any raspyness but with the FR500S mufflers they are raspy which I can live with.

Lee's05GT

Formally Qksixx
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
when i had my v6 I did not have a mid pipe just "straight" pipes i had magnaflow mufflers on it, sounded really good too.

TexasBlownV8

Formerly TexasBlownV6
Reaction score
I ran mac longtube's with high flow cats and straight pipes out to either GT mufflers or straight pipes. Using a X sounded like crap (like a loud bee!).
The stock exhaust manifolds are plenty good; shorties are only to pretty-it-up.