1st time Detailer

charlie123

forum member
Reaction score
So Ive been doing some overtime and some side work, and I'm finally going, Ive tried contact autogeek for advice and never got a response. I'm just clueless as to what to order for what. I have a DIB 2014 and I have some mild to light scratches due to when I bought the car they took it to 1 of those car washes of death and had scratches everywhere. I also have a about a fist sized blemish on the roof. My questions are is there a difference between like the griots, flex, and porter cable polishers, and what type of waxes should I get for the scratches? I'm really new to this and have watched countless youtube vids and just don't know what to get. But I do know I will be claying and want to do the whole enchilada, I also know I want a foam cannon. Any info would be nice thanks guys.

B2B

forum member
Reaction score
These two stickies should answer most of your questions.

http://www.s197forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81497

http://www.s197forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=84488

I have all three machines that you mentioned and the Flex is far superior when it comes to power and control. Torq 10FX is the latest random orbital polisher but I don't have any experience with it.

I used to swear by Meguiars M105/M205 for paint correction, but now switched to Chemical Guys V34/V36/V38. Easily matches M105/M205 but doesn't create a dust storm like the M105/M205.

Get a Autoality membership and get your supplies there. Great people and great prices.

TGR96

el blanco nino
Reaction score
Hey Charlie, I am also a noob to detailing, and I recently did a lot of polishing work on my Mustang, my red 99 Miata, and my wife's 07 black Jeep Grand Cherokee.

My Mustang wasn't too bad, just typical light surface scratches from washing, but the Miata had very badly oxidized paint, and the Jeep had a ton of surface scratches.