BMR Tubular K-Member (05-09)

NA-Stang

AMC #8 aka "The Jockey"
Reaction score
Ok, so I recently was in an accident with my 2005 Mustang GT. Long story short, smacked the front driver corner into a guide rail. The stock k-member, along with other various front suspension parts, was bent. So, I took this opportunity to upgrade to a BMR Tubular K-Member.

Here is my question. The body guy who installed it, and the guy at the shop who aligned the vehicle, both told me that the BMR unit looks weaker than the stock one. Anyone have any input about this? Any experience with them not performing as well as a stock unit?

Now, I have a degree in Civil Engineering. I have had 2 structural analysis classes, and a class in, well, basically metal strength. I believe that the BMR unit looks as if it would be as strong, if not stronger, than the stock unit. I didn't get into it with either of them, because I figured, what's the point. They weren't going to change my mind.

go302

Tits McGee
Reaction score
Lol ya right BMR makes bum shit. Don't listen to anything else those guys tell you.

irishpwr46

Official Site Vandal
Reaction score
how long has your body shop guy had an engineering degree?

TexasBlownV8

Formerly TexasBlownV6
Reaction score
I can tell you this: mu car was raised up from a single jack under the center crossbar of the BMR k-member; it held the full weight just fine, no bends, nothing. (I wouldn't do that again, it just didnt look right!)

NA-Stang

AMC #8 aka "The Jockey"
Reaction score
Thanks guys.

I was making sure I wasn't crazy.

BruceH

BBB Big Bore Boss 322
Reaction score
I've had a BMR k member. I'd agree that it's not going to be as strong as a factory unit. However, there have been wrecks posted up involving the BMR and they faired ok.

skwerl

tree hugger
Reaction score