C&L intake installation issuse

DDTCM

Dan
Reaction score
Recievd the c&l and tuner and noticed there are 3 inlets. One for the vacum line,one for the sound tube and a third in the middle of those two for no apparent reason.It is threaded and I'm running a bolt in there which fits perfectly but I'm not happy with the ghetto jerry rigged appearance of this.Is there anything else I could run? A rubber stopper perhaps?

If anyone is running something else besides the two ive mentioned please feel free to chime in. Thanks.

If this isnt tech enough I apologize. ......please dont roast me.

jsnyng

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am a noob on these cars. I am not a mechanic and am only a decent parts changer. If this is wrong, please don't flame too hard. I read all of the posts here but don't share much.

Here's a picture of my Steeda setup:

Steeda CAI by jsnyng, on Flickr

I'm guessing your extra hole may have something to do with the CAI you received being for an automatic. Steeda offers two different part #'s for their CAI's, one for manual and one for automatic. The automatic definitely needs three holes. JLT sells just one part number for both but states on their website, "Automatic tubes need an additional fitting, which we provide. The fittings are Milled from solid billet aluminum and all you need to do is drill a ½” hole (we show you where) in the tube, install the supplied grommet, fitting and you’re done." I know nothing about the C&L, but I'm guessing your third hole has something to do with supporting an auto transmission. I think the hose the manuals are missing is the one that you see going under the engine cover. I hope this helps.

DDTCM

Dan
Reaction score
I asked if they sent me one for a auto being that my car is a standard. Their response was,"no they all come like that". Now I'm wondering if they are full of shit. Is the pic you posted a auto?

DDTCM

Dan
Reaction score