First time 3V build

Nick C

Reaction score
Hey guys this is my first post here, I've had my 2006 GT for about a year now and i have decided to go with a turbo build. i am an audi technician by trade and have done tons of piston replacements , cylinder heads , ect. But these are just simple parts swaps, no measuring clearances or anything like that. My plan is to get a cheap longblock , get the mating surfaces resurfaced and cylinder walls honed , and throw in a forged rotating assembly ( crank , pistons and rings , rods , bearings , and ARP hardware ). My question is where can i learn everything i will need to know about building my 4.6L 3v? What are all of the different clearances i will need to check , how to check them, what the specs are (what piston gap,compression ect) , and what the preferred year engine would be to start with. My goal is to have a reliable turbo 600 whp build for a weekend street car with possibly the occasional track day. Are there any books or anything i can read? I am trying to learn as much aa i can before i start my build.. Thanks for any helpful info !

Marble

forum member
Reaction score
I think Sean hyland wrote a book about it. And from what I've learned, even on high horsepower builds, factory clearances are still used through out the block.

L and M engines will also answer questions sometimes.

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Look at threads by BruceH. He did some great write ups and referenced books IIRC

axis101

Reaction score