Guage cluster swap 2005 to 2018?

Theinvisi-stang

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Hi, everyone.

First post, I have a motor out of an 18 GT i'm going to be installing into my car, and I want to order a guage cluster for it because it has the original PCM and wiring from Ford, so theoretically it should work properly with some help programming at my local ford dealership (Odometer, PATs, etc.), what i want to know is what kind of modification will be needed to install a 2018+ cluster into my stock 2005 dash? Will it fit right in with no modification? Do i need to have a bracket made for it? Is the cluster the same size? Does anyone have any ideas on this at all? I think it should be possible, just wanted to get ideas on how to accomplish the install before I go and buy a cluster off eBay or craigslist, lol.
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,639
Reaction score
1,909
It is not a direct bolt in.
The bezel also will not.fit.
*Info provided based on my attempt to install a 2013 cluster into mine*
 

Theinvisi-stang

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2021
Posts
2
Reaction score
0
Ok so the dash or dash trim would need to be cut/dremeled for it to fit? I figured that might be the case, luckily i'm replacing the whole dash due to severe damage to the top of it so I can experiment with the old dash.
 

Scott88

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Posts
35
Reaction score
4
Location
VA
I did this exact thing with a 2005 and 2018. I had to cut both the dash and Guage cluster to make it fit. It's roughly the same size, so nothing severe, but the angles and connection points are different.
 

mjk27435

Junior Member
Joined
May 14, 2024
Posts
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
@Scott88 What did the final product look like? I have the cluster from the 2013 Mustang GT donor car along with the engine and trans. I want to install the 13 cluster into the 07 Mustang GT/CS. I have attempted and found that the plug in the back is different to start with, how is that handled? I have included photos of the cluster I want to put in, and what is currently in the 07. Is this a possibility, as I want the mileage to match, the engine/trans only had 36K on them so that would be nice to have them match. Thanks.

20240514_205919.jpg

20240514_210034.jpg
 

Support us!

Support Us - Become A Supporting Member Today!

Click Here For Details

Sponsor Links

Banner image
Back
Top