I did something dumb, maybe...

dokotadog

Reaction score
I'm not really a newbie, but new to the GT500. The wife hated me taking up garage space storing my new 08 GT500 over the winter, so I rented a storage space. I read the best thing to do was to take the battery out of the car during a prolonged storage, which I did. Then I got to thinking about it.....Will my doors still open normally, since there is no power to the windows to bring them down a bit automatically before opening the door? I fullly closed the hood, so now I need to get into the car to pop the hood open to put the battery back in. A quandry? Come in through the trunk with a key? Any ideas or insight appreciated.

DieHarder

Reaction score
You should still be able to open the door (I've done it). Access thru the trunk really isn't possible unless the rear seats are already down (that said, haven't tried it but you might be able to release the seat latches somehow in the trunk; upper part of the seat). For future reference usually a good idea to crack the drivers window 1/4 in to avoid that issue and you can still open the door with a key.

Juice

forum member
Reaction score
Opt 1: Disconnect battery with door(s) open. Window stays down a 1/4" and wont hang opening door.
Opt 2: Disconnect battery, leave hood unlatched. Connect battery before opening door.
Opt 3: Leave it on a trickle charger.

Consider these when doing anything mechanical where disconnecting the battery is needed. Like pulling the engine.

MrBhp

Reaction score
And I might, add leave your hood open. I was having trouble with mice. Fortunately I caught them before they chewed up anything. I've had no mice problems since I started leaving the hood open.

dokotadog

Reaction score