Lauching techniques for BFG Drs

Grabber07'

The flying cheeto
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
I did a search and couldnt find what I was looking for. I am a newb when it comes to using Drag radials... I am going to the track this friday for TestNTune and my goal is a 12sec run. Can anyone give me some tips when it comes to prepping and launching off the line with 275/40/17 BFG drs? Tire pressure?

These are the things I know about the strip and drs.

1) Drive around the water
2) back your rear tires into the water box
3) Do a slight spin to get them wet
4) Pull about a foot out of the box
5) Engage line locks
6) Not sure wether to do a 1st gear or second gear burnout?
7) How long of a burnout? (these tires have 4 runs on them... will i need to break them in?)
8) Release line lock and spin forward out of the water
9) Prestage and get my RPMs up
10) Move slightly forward to get fully staged
11) What RPM do I launch at? Some say 3500Rpms some say 4500rpms?
12) Leave at the last yellow (Do I put the gas to the floor and slip the clutch? Or do I let her out?
13)Shift points... my car feels good well above 6000rpms... I usually shift 1-2 2-3 at 6400-6500 and I have to baby 4th into gear... tranny doesnt like the quick shift above 6000rpms

Are there any other tips? We do have an air pump out there so I can mess with tire pressure... are there things to watch out for as far as what the car is doing so that I can mess with tire pressure or RPMs to adjust for it?
Thanks in advance guys!!

stkjock

---- Madmin ----
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Paraphrasing Marc -aka Chevy Killer and his great advice...