Photography - learn me how take pictures

tjm73

of Omicron Persei 8
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
The thread title is a bit of a joke because I am about as new to trying to take decent pictures as one can be. I almost feel retarded because I know so little about actually getting the picture I'd like.

Every once and a while I get lucky when I am taking pictures and get a picture I really like. I've never had a "high end" camera. I've only ever had point and shoots. I have some OK pictures, but they're pretty much all luck. I have no editing experience to speak of.

My wife and I recently bought a new camera. It's a step up from a simple point and shoot but not a DSLR. We bought a Canon SX510 HS. It takes nice pictures when I'm lucky enough to have conditions right for whatever I'm taking pictures of. But it does a whole lot more than I know what to do with it.

What are some good beginner websites to learn the jargon and what things do? Like what exactly is ISO and what do the different numbers with it mean? What impact does it have on the picture?

Also, I would like to learn more about lighting and when to take the best pictures. Bright sun light? Overcast days? What about indoor shots? Objects traveling at higher speeds? Sports? Drag racing, etc...

Where can I learn about this stuff without it being so technical I lose interest, but technical enough I understand it. I like to understand not only what something does, but how it does it.

Attached is an "I got lucky" picture I recently took. At least I think I got lucky.

5456b.jpg

Last edited:

psfracer

billy badass
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
Here is one of the best vids I have found that explains a lot, but its really for DSLRs. If you have a point and shoot, you don't have a lot of flexibility like you would in a DSLR.

Also, check out this thread. While its about cars, a lot of the principals in it will apply to almost anything:

http://www.s197forum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112160

tjm73