Steering wheel upgrade questions

DJGietzen

Reaction score
Hey guys,

A couple years back I invested in a 2012 steering wheel and planned to swap it into my 07 GT when I picked up an aftermarket radio. Got some questions.

Any one have a detailed tutorial on doing this? I've seen https://mustangforums.com/forum/200...and-have-fully-functional-audio-controls.html but I'm not going to use a PAC since I have an aftermarket radio. I've also watched and this seems more like what I need to do. 1 problem is that my radio is a Seicane Model:H228G I don't have a wiring diagram that shows both a key1 and key2 wire.

What are the key wires for? I'm just learning all this stuff.

DJGietzen

Reaction score
Here are the wiring diagrams from my radios product page

1-autoradio-gps-bluetooth-navigation-H228G_23.jpg

1-cd-radio-gps-navigation-H228G_24.jpg

datmbn

forum member
Reaction score
This is what I write on an Swedish forum translated with google translate

This summer when I was in the United States, I got a cheap steering wheel with sound buttons for a 2012 so it would be fun to
get it and get started all the buttons.
The steering wheel was quite tired with buttons like flag and some scratch, but after a little left "rim color" and a button representation
https://www.amazon.com/Mustang-Steering-Wheel-Button-Repair/dp/B01LWU237A Looked great

Physically, the wheel fits directly and you can use any center you want.
Now over to the electrical connection:
You will need to use the cable from the new dial but the connector from the old + that you need to use an additional 4-wire connector
(a USB connection to computer motherboards fits)
Start by cutting off the connectors (save earth wire + cable shoe to tilt the old connector)
Connect now:
(white-gray), (blue-brown), (green or black-black), (red-red).
You now have 4 wires left, which you probably pull back to the cross and connect to a USB connector