Tasca Ford customer service

Fairlane514

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2021
Posts
34
Reaction score
6
Let me get this straight; you ordered parts, you received said parts, you broke one trying to install it, and yet you are still bashing Tasca?
I’m sure Tasca must have tampered with it AFTER they shipped it…
I am trying to give you the benefit of the doubt, but you’re not helping me out very much.

Btw; I got your private message linking all of the complaints. Not sure why you singled me out to send it, unless it’s because I called you a snowflake. I guess so, since that was the title of the message thread…


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Never said they tampered with the failed part...grow up. No I didnt single you out, I sent to others who seem to be one sided.
Anytime you feel like coming to Brenham Texas, I will buy you a beer and we can talk this over, I look forward to it.

I also included the parts failure with pictures so others may benefit from the issue. It looks to me to be a manufacturing error, not Tasca. At this point always check the tiny roll pins to see if they sit proud of the surface where the bolt flange makes contact. It all happened in a split second when I began the torque sequence.
 

dark steed

Resident noob
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Posts
6,751
Reaction score
2,306
Location
Winder, GA
Never said they tampered with the failed part...grow up. No I didnt single you out, I sent to others who seem to be one sided.
Anytime you feel like coming to Brenham Texas, I will buy you a beer and we can talk this over, I look forward to it.

I’ll grant that I’m probably feeling a bit less than charitable today, everything I have eaten in the last 48 hours has exited my body rather forcefully today.
I’m glad you got your parts, I’m sorry one was faulty, and I apologize for making a smart assed comment, I know the part wasn’t tampered.
I’ll take you up on that beer, I do travel quite a bit lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Steve@Tasca

Senior Member
Official Vendor
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Posts
1,337
Reaction score
54
That would be the first one I've ever seen break during installation, I checked sales history and we've had exactly zero returns or warranty claims on those phasers. I'll have to check with the manager and see what he has to say.
 

86GT351

forum member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Posts
6,119
Reaction score
943
Location
Sunny South Florida
That would be the first one I've ever seen break during installation, I checked sales history and we've had exactly zero returns or warranty claims on those phasers. I'll have to check with the manager and see what he has to say.
Funny. Being in Ford Service we do Phasers all the time due to the rattle noises. No issue like that at all.
 

skwerl

tree hugger
Joined
Aug 6, 2011
Posts
16,200
Reaction score
1,147
Location
central Florida
I had one break like that the first time I messed with mine installing limiters. Had to buy another one to replace it. I just figured I did something wrong instead of assuming it was a defective part.
 

Fairlane514

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2021
Posts
34
Reaction score
6
Ok, I thought I might have done something wrong as well, but the second went on with the same procedure, without incident.
I can rebuild transmissions, engines,
rear ends, welding, body work etc....im not a newbie when comes to installing parts.
Im glad some of you have perfect records and never have parts failures, I envy you. Maybe its possible this was a bad part........Oh, wait, its me the new guy....it has to be my fault.

For those of you who have installed the phasers, tell me how you did it? Place it on the end of the camshaft with dowel pin properly engaged, hand tighten the sprocket bolt, then torque to spec?
If you look at the pictures I posted, you can see the new bolt was damaged by the roll pins. As soon as I began to torque it, I felt a slight grinding, stopped and said "that aint righ...." and it broke. Seconds only.

Like I said, this has nothing to with Tasca, its simply a defective part. The original parts obviously fail thats why they get replaced. Its not possible a new part could be defective, is what some of you are saying......that's a true sign of lack of intelligence and experience.
If the Motorcraft part has a warranty, what's the big deal?
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,634
Reaction score
1,909
Funny. Being in Ford Service we do Phasers all the time due to the rattle noises. No issue like that at all.
Do the new phasers take careof the rattle? Or is it a placebo effect and just makes the owner happy?
From what I have been finding is VCT systems can be noisy.
I hear a light rattle, off idle in 1st leaving my driveway. Zero issues otherwise. Or should I be pulling and replacing all my phasers? Honest question.
 

tjm73

of Omicron Persei 8
S197 Team Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Posts
12,092
Reaction score
1,638
Location
Rush, NY
Do the new phasers take careof the rattle? Or is it a placebo effect and just makes the owner happy?
From what I have been finding is VCT systems can be noisy.
I hear a light rattle, off idle in 1st leaving my driveway. Zero issues otherwise. Or should I be pulling and replacing all my phasers? Honest question.

What fuel do you run? When I had my '05 GT it did exactly what you describe. I ran higher octane fuel and it 100% stopped. And I actually got an improvement in fuel economy (hand calculated, not from the trip calculator). Improved enough to make the increased price a wash.
 

86GT351

forum member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Posts
6,119
Reaction score
943
Location
Sunny South Florida
Do the new phasers take careof the rattle? Or is it a placebo effect and just makes the owner happy?
From what I have been finding is VCT systems can be noisy.
I hear a light rattle, off idle in 1st leaving my driveway. Zero issues otherwise. Or should I be pulling and replacing all my phasers? Honest question.
Being honest it is too soon to tell. I can say of the ones we have replaced, none have come back. Yes a VCT can be slightly noisy. Some of these when they go bad sound like a Rod Knock.
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,634
Reaction score
1,909
Being honest it is too soon to tell. I can say of the ones we have replaced, none have come back. Yes a VCT can be slightly noisy. Some of these when they go bad sound like a Rod Knock.
Cool, thanks. Mine is just a slight ticking noise, and there are no cam timing errors. So I will just let it ride as it has not gotten any worse.
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,634
Reaction score
1,909
What fuel do you run? When I had my '05 GT it did exactly what you describe. I ran higher octane fuel and it 100% stopped. And I actually got an improvement in fuel economy (hand calculated, not from the trip calculator). Improved enough to make the increased price a wash.
I run fuel based on use. 87 for daily, 93 on track and let the computer do its thing with the adaptive timing.
My noise is definitely not fuel related. Does it cold, pulling out of the driveway and under 1500 rpms.
 

86GT351

forum member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Posts
6,119
Reaction score
943
Location
Sunny South Florida
I run fuel based on use. 87 for daily, 93 on track and let the computer do its thing with the adaptive timing.
My noise is definitely not fuel related. Does it cold, pulling out of the driveway and under 1500 rpms.
Sounds like it very well could be a phaser or possibly a Timing Chain Guide wearing. Remember they are Metal an Plastic.

On an unrelated note. I have finally reached 5000 posts. Please send lavish gifts.
 

Greg Hazlett

Stepping on the Pink Bus
Official Vendor
S197 Team Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Posts
23,977
Reaction score
336
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Sounds like it very well could be a phaser or possibly a Timing Chain Guide wearing. Remember they are Metal an Plastic.

On an unrelated note. I have finally reached 5000 posts. Please send lavish gifts.

5k???? Rookie.....pffffft....those are rookie numbers, gotta get those numbers up!
 

Support us!

Support Us - Become A Supporting Member Today!

Click Here For Details

Sponsor Links

Banner image
Back
Top