Will you guys PLEASE stop resetting my "weekly digest" email subscription preferences?

Discussion in 'Site News, Suggestions, Complaints & Bugs' started by kcbrown, Feb 5, 2020.

  1. kcbrown

    kcbrown forum member

    653
    5
    Every few months, it seems the "weekly digest" setting gets set back to "subscribed" and I start receiving the "weekly digest".

    I keep having to set it back to "unsubscribe".

    How many different ways do I have to tell this site that I DO NOT WANT PERIODIC EMAIL MESSAGES FROM THIS SITE?

    If I want to check out what's going on here, I will log in to do so.
     
  2. skwerl

    skwerl tree hugger

    15,480
    321
  3. kcbrown

    kcbrown forum member

    653
    5
    Yeah, I just now did that at the same time I "unsubscribed" again. Guess we'll see how that works out.

    But look: if they aren't intentionally changing up people's preferences here, then this site has a bug, and that's that. They need to fix it, or get it fixed.

    And if they ARE intentionally changing up people's preferences, well, then for shame ... :) :)
     
  4. RED09GT

    RED09GT Senior Member S197 Team Member

    1,725
    81
    I didn't know we had such a letter. I guess my contact preferences must be staying in tact.
     
  5. Hawgman

    Hawgman THE fucking bad guy Staff Member Administrator Super Moderator S197 Team Member

    14,263
    820
    I can assure you that no one is purposely resetting your email preferences. There is not an option to change, edit, or administer a user's email preferences in the user moderation screen. The only mention at all of email preferences is whether or not you want to receive email notification when a new conversation message is received.

    kcbrown.JPG
     
  6. kcbrown

    kcbrown forum member

    653
    5
    Cool, thanks. Then we must be looking at a bug. It may be that when you make some change to the system (perhaps an upgrade?), the system decides that “hey, we have these cool new features that everyone needs to know about so we’ll just reset the bulk notification preferences to their defaults to ensure that everyone finds out!”

    I’ve seen things like that happen plenty of times in plenty of other more commercially-oriented sites.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk