First time going to the track..Need some advice!

Grey Ghost

forum member
Reaction score
Okay, let me start this off by saying I did use the search to see if there were other threads that could answer my questions and didn't have much luck finding all the info. So here goes...I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to drag racing at a track. I've never done it before, but I plan on going the local track tomorrow night to run my pretty close to stock GT (93 Brenspeed Tune w/JLT CAI) on my 19" street tires (sorry no slicks this time around) to see what it will run. However, since I haven't done it before, I don't know really how to go about it.

I need some basic schooling and advice in the way of amateur drag racing. I have lots of questions, so help a noob out :thumb:.

What are all the things I need to do to prepare for the race?

What are all the safety requirements needed for me to race my car? Helmet? Certain kind of clothing? etc.?

What PSI should I reduce my tires too for better traction?

If I'm racing on my street tires, do I need to go through the water box and do a burn out?

Biggest noob question here...How are you supposed to do the burn out to clean off your tires in a 5-speed? It seems easy to me in an Auto because don't you hold on the brake, while stepping on the accelerator at the same time?

How does the staging process work (I know..another dumb question)?

How do I read the Christmas tree?

What RPMs do I need to launch my car at for the most power?

What RPMs do I need to shift at to maximize power?