Is there a DIY engine removal?

Deez-67

forum member
Reaction score
I'm helping my brother with a motor swap and we are having a hard time with a few things. Not sure if we just don't have the right tool but can't seem to get the power steering pump out. Also what is the proper way to remove the AC? Those seem to be the only two things slowing us up everything else is unplugged and out of the way.

Any input, trick of the trade, help of tip is welcome as this is my first time to pull a motor out of a S197.

Also I remember reading that dropping them out of the bottom is the way to go.

skwerl

tree hugger
Reaction score
Try to leave the AC system closed and intact, just secure it out of your way as much as possible. I did my motor swap at my buddy's shop and he has the freon pump machine to draw out the coolant and recharge, so I did it that way. You need the special line tool to uncouple the lines.

Deez-67

forum member
Reaction score
Try to leave the AC system closed and intact, just secure it out of your way as much as possible. I did my motor swap at my buddy's shop and he has the freon pump machine to draw out the coolant and recharge, so I did it that way. You need the special line tool to uncouple the lines.

ok... I think I have a buddy with a freon pump. I might need to give him a call.

05gtowner

forum member
Reaction score
why not just unbolt it from the block and zip tie it to the chassis. Same with the power steering pump. Absolutely no need to open either of those systems.

drive_55_not

forum member
Reaction score
I'm helping my brother with a motor swap and we are having a hard time with a few things. Not sure if we just don't have the right tool but can't seem to get the power steering pump out. Also what is the proper way to remove the AC? Those seem to be the only two things slowing us up everything else is unplugged and out of the way.