Noob/Intro

Bad Horsie

Reaction score
Hey all!,

Noob here. Picking up my 08 GT coupe deluxe 5 spd 47,000 original miles next week. Going to start HPDE in a month or 2.
Car is all stock with Cooper Zeon RS3-A's. first goal is Brake upgrade. I've used power slot rotors and Hawk pads in the past on my Dodge Dakota and they worked great.
what do you suggest without breaking the bank.

Thanks,

Intis

SoundGuyDave

This Space For Rent
Reaction score
Flush the fluid with fresh DOT3, slap on a set of Hawk HT-10's (or DTC-60 if you have previous experience on track), and go have fun. Make sure you bed the pads properly, though, and bring a spare bottle of fluid to do a quick bleed at lunch. If the bug bites, then ducts and Brembos are in your future!

Sky Render

Stig's Retarded Cousin
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
What Dave said. Put on some decent pads, flush the brake fluid (use some ATE gold if you want), and go have fun.

Iceman62

Bullitt 6005
Reaction score
Congrats on the new-to-you ride and...time to make it your own. Ride-on!

SoundGuyDave

This Space For Rent
Reaction score
Make sure fluid is Dot 4 :)

Why DOT4 for a track newb? $18 for a half-liter is a bit pricy, particularly if you're only going to one track day during the six months before the fluid ages out? Stock DOT3, if fresh, is plenty for somebody sticking a toe in the water.

With full-thickness pads in a race compound, you won't get enough heat transfer into the fluid to worry about in 15-20 minute sessions in a stock car, particularly on street tires. Now, if he has a bunch of previous experience, that's a different thing all together...

ddd4114

forum member
Reaction score