Really Needing Some Help Here Guys. 08 GT - Running Awful.

Townson

forum member
Reaction score
Alright gents, I'm about at my wits end. I've got an 08 GT and I've been battling some type of gremlin for a few months now. I'm going to start at the very beginning. This is going to be a long thread so bear with me.

Back in March I installed my wotbox. Car didn't want to idle after I had disconnected the battery. Did the idle relearn procedure and everything was gravy for about 2 weeks.

A few days after the first test n tune of drag season, the car would occasionally sputter while driving and only while driving. It would usually happen in 3rd and 4th gear at around 2,000 rpm under partial throttle. I figured it was the plugs.

Pulled the old plugs out (ht0's) and sure enough they were a mess. Installed new Champion 7989 plugs and all was good for about 2 days. Then the hesitation came back.

It's been gradually getting worse over the past month. I run my car at an 1/8th mile track every Thursday without fail and it runs good. On the way home and driving around the following days is when the trouble starts.

Wednesday I came to the conclusion that I had possibly either gotten bad gas, had a clogged fuel filter or my fuel pump was going out. Because the car only acts that way when it has a quarter tank or less. (So I thought)

Anyway, Thursday after work I put in a 1/3 of a can of seafoam and filled my tank from a quarter full to half full. I checked all my plugs, they looked great. I took off my throttle body and cleaned it. I cleaned the MAF. I reloaded my bama tune that I've had no trouble out of for the past year, but I figured it wouldn't hurt.

When I got to the track, it was hauling ass. It made the best pass it has ever made. On the way home, no trouble.