When Advancetrac is turned off, is it really off?

larry Stark

Reaction score
I just had a bad experience at the track with my 2011 GT. I always run with the Advancetrac off. After a really hard rain the concrete track surface was drying. I was first group out and was really taking it easy. On a short straight slowly rolling into the throttle while accelerating the rear of the car suddenly broke loose and spun me off course. I studied in car video and was going in a straight line and my hands had not moved on the wheel prior to the spin. I did some research on You tube and there are a multitude of video compilations of Mustangs crashing in the same manner. Many people say that even though the Advancetrac is off it can turn back on again or it never really goes completely off. Does anybody really know if the Advancetrac can turn back on or never shuts off?

crjackson

Reaction score
Yeah, it can go completely off. At least it does on my 2014 Track-Pack.

I have a friend that races auto-x and his would seem to magically turn on at times. After years of Messing with this, he decided to inspect the wiring, and found a melted harness near the exhaust over axle pipe. He repaired, moved, and shielded the harness. It never happened again.

I always run with mine turned off, and recently had to take a ditch to avoid being T-Boned. During the incident, my car hit a massive pothole, and spun out with tires slip-sliding everywhere. My Advancetrac remained off (even though, I WISHED it had kicked in).

So I’m pretty sure it goes off and stays off on mine anyway.

Last edited:

LarryJM

Resident Fuktard
Reaction score
Lots of wrecked S197 Coyote Mustangs out there with 85,000 miles. Hey just saying.

86GT351

forum member
Reaction score