2005 Mustang GT. Here goes. I decided to install a set of BBK shorty
headers and when I accelerate I hear what sounds like an exhaust leak
coming from the passenger side of my engine? However, I've installed
three different types of Header gaskets and I still hear the same sound
under acceleration? There is No sound when at idle. I've also installed
all new bolts and they are all still tight as well as all the connections of
the exhaust system. Could someone Please tell what this sound could
possible be other then an exhaust leak? This has me every perplexed
and is driving me crazy. I would definitely appreciate any help.
Cheers!

ShelbySteve

Reaction score
Hello, this is my first time posting an issue that I'm having with my
2005 Mustang GT. Here goes. I decided to install a set of BBK shorty
headers and when I accelerate I hear what sounds like an exhaust leak
coming from the passenger side of my engine? However, I've installed
three different types of Header gaskets and I still hear the same sound
under acceleration? There is No sound when at idle. I've also installed
all new bolts and they are all still tight as well as all the connections of
the exhaust system. Could someone Please tell what this sound could
possible be other then an exhaust leak? This has me every perplexed
and is driving me crazy. I would definitely appreciate any help.
Cheers!
Coming from being a long time Camaro owner to owning a s197 I’ve also heard the same noise and thought it was an exhaust leak. My car has 21k miles and I just had to have both MAC cats replaced due to being busted up and rattling on the inside. With that being said I though I had an exhaust leak and the guy that replaced the cats said it was just “header noise”.

Iceman62

Bullitt 6005
Reaction score
OP; Going to be a hard diagnosis fm keyboard...get car to auto shop and/or exhaust shop & have them take a listen.

07 Boss

Reaction score
Thin walled headers transfer more noise from the heads than a cast manifold.