Fuel Fill Issue. Sorry to bring this up again

Terry

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

First as you can see I'm a newbie here. I'm from Auckland New Zealand and I have just bought my new (to me) Mustang a 2007 GT. It's a gem. I have waited for this moment most of my life. First problem though...I cant fill it up!! So, first Mustang, first post and now my first apology in bringing up such an old issue. But in my defence, it may be old to this forum but it's a brand new and somewhat surprising issue to me!! Yes, I have looked at many forums and the specific thread on this forum (which I didn't post into in case I got told off for bringing up a dead thread) but the answers seem to be all hit and miss. It's the evap system or its' the fuel tank or its the filler pipes tortuous route to the tank or its the way you hold the nozzle or it's the fuel station pump being too aggressive. One suggested the weather was the cause of this inability to get much more than 3/4 of a tank unless you fuel at the rate of about 10 cents a minute!

The fixes range from replacing the tank, to making a make shift vent from the tank, to completely removing the evap system. One guy even said he fixed his problem by removing the evap solenoid by the engine! Standing on the door sill and shaking that ass works well it seems as does standing on your head and whistling Dixie while filling up. Amongst all that, I'm not sure the real problem was ever really identified. A close winner may have been the guy from the Dubai who identified the different filler necks between the 07 and 08/09. Unfortunately, that line of reasoning was never progressed yet I think it sounded the most promising (next to standing on your head whistling Dixie!).