Ford Racing CAI on my 2008 SGT - should I upgrade to a JLT?

Macman45

Resident Geriatric
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Posts
1,446
Reaction score
174
Location
Atlanta / Bay Area
I’ll chime in and reiterate the obvious. LITO is so far improved it’s crazy. I had a stupid Bama tune, car would lurch and hesitate on take off, never idled right. Lito has it running perfect in one day. More power too
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,622
Reaction score
1,904
Well, don't know what to say but I'm not sure how to get this tune from Lito exactly. Can you PM me with more details and price? To be honest, though it runs pretty strong and I'm not racing it on the interstate and neither am I saying you aren't speaking the truth. Never mind I went to the website.
Let me start by saying a Chromebook may not work for this.

You will receive a .cef file from Lito. This is the tune.
You will load this file to an x4 handheld using the Device Updater program from SCT.
You will flash the car using the x4.
You can datalog with the x4, using a config file loaded to the x4. This tells the x4 what to log.
Than you download the log from the x4, email it. You will get an updated .cef. Rinse and repeat till both of you are happy with the car.
Thats it in a nutshell, from memory.
 

Forty61

forum member
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Posts
1,171
Reaction score
1,060
Location
Dallas, TX
Alternatively pay a little more for a reputable local tuner to do it for you. I had my tune done with my cams etc. at a local shop and it’s been great.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2021
Posts
487
Reaction score
400
Location
29486
I read the comments and to tell you the truth my car runs like a raped ape. I might like Forty61 said I might get a custom tune here locally but for now I'm fine.
 

DieHarder

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
1,464
Reaction score
756
As long as you can load up the SCT and monitoring software you certainly can datalog using most any laptop (can't say about the chromebook but since it needs the cloud to run most software vice natively I'd say probably not). In my setup I use the X4 to connect to the OBDII data port; an AEM WB gauge (data outputs) to measure AFR/Boost and a laptop computer to record the log files. IMHO it's really a prerequisite to get a wideband AFR; especially if plan to go FI in the future. I suppose you could log directly from the SCT and then pull that down into a computer to email but I find it easier (one less step) to record the logs using the computer and send that to Lito when doing tune updates.

As others have said Lito is great. Had my car running excellent (DOB setup) in 3 iterations (one base tune and 2 updates). Still running excellent. And he provided a tune to pass smog as well.

It can be a bit daunting at first if you know nothing about tuning. But once you get the AFR installed; run a few cables; make a few logs and update some tunes it starts to make sense and later you'll realize it really isn't that bad to understand after all. I don't tune my own car mind you but I do have a pretty good idea now all of the parameters that are monitored; why; how to run logs/update tunes. All pretty basic now.

I think there's a writeup I did some years back on my setup. I'll see if I can find it and post it again for SA.
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,622
Reaction score
1,904
Would that work in CA?
If they are checking the checksum of the calibration, NO it will not work.
Any change to the tune alters the file size, thus the checksum changes.
 

DieHarder

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Posts
1,464
Reaction score
756
If they are checking the checksum of the calibration, NO it will not work.
Any change to the tune alters the file size, thus the checksum changes.

Actually, the only change to the tune according to Lito is turning off the back sensors in the exhaust. Lito says they're not needed and tend to introduce errors. I suppose you could run the smog version all of the time if you wanted. I only ran mine for about 4 - 5 days which Lito says is enough for the smog sensors to settle out.
 

BoatsHateMe

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2021
Posts
17
Reaction score
6
Location
Western WI
Got my mods done and started on the Lito tune. Honestly I was a little underwhelm at the difference the 4:10s and aluminum driveshaft made for the butt dyno. The car definitely rode smoother though but I also had Billstone shocks installed. The place that mounted my new tires a while back told me one of my shocks was leaking so I ordered new Bilsteins. Turns out that was just oil on the shock from the breather on my rear end. That’s OK, they do road noticeably smoother which is important for my bride.

I downloaded and saved the files from Lito for the initial tune and for the data logging, installed live leak for the data log and went to work. My first issue was getting the SCT tuner to be recognized by my laptop. I had the cable plugged in on both sides but it would not recognize it. After telling this to Manwell he said to be sure the cable are use is compatible with data transfer and not just a charging cable. I did not realize there was a difference so I collected the proper cable and that worked fine. Then I opened live leak to hopefully start the data logging and I had the same issue with that, it did not recognize a connection, though I was using a data cable this time. I emailed Manuel and he replied back to make sure that I have the SCTX4 updater software closed on my laptop otherwise it recognizes that by default and livelink will not connect. I follow his instructions, it worked flawlessly and did a five minute idle data log. I took it for a test drive and it is noticeably better even with his initial tune. I feel the gears are certainly noticeable, much better throttle response as well. What I really noticed was the sound, it just sounds so much better. Initially after I had the Shorty headers put on there really wasn’t that much difference in sound which was OK but now it really is beautiful.

One or two more tunes and data logs and I should be good to go. And however I did receive my underdrive pulleys so I’ll probably be having a new tune done soon again.

I’m looking forward to getting a few more runs on the new rear end to get them properly seated then take a cruise down on some Mexican highways.
 

Juice

forum member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Posts
4,622
Reaction score
1,904
I always have to hit "test communication" in SCT Live Link before it will communicate with my car.
 

Support us!

Support Us - Become A Supporting Member Today!

Click Here For Details

Sponsor Links

Banner image
Back
Top