Tires - ET, DR, Slicks, etc..

Waakeeen

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I was looking at old threads but couldn't find exactly what I needed. Sorry if I missed a post please tag it so I can check it out. So I just purchased some 15x10's wheels and was looking into tires. I know with corona not much is happening but still doesn't stop me from doing what makes me happy. I have a 06 GT, stick and about 500hp to the wheels, I'm a noob to tire brands and specs. I was hoping to get some advice with specific brand of tire to use for best hook/launch without risking breaking my rear glass. I checked out the drag times and noticed some stick shift cars were using m/t et street radial. However when I do a google search there's different versions of that tire, Street pro, S/S and so on lol. Information regarding the tire exactly name would be great and links would be a bonus too! Thanks everyone, can't wait for all this craziness to pass so we can get back to doing what we love!

Sactown

Sactown
Reaction score
These should fit but I would double check, I run a 28x10.5 slick on my 15x10 rims
P325/50R15
28X13.50R15

I ran the ET streets for a long time when I drove the car to the track very good tire, other than a good tire the best thing you can do to get that 60' down is some suspension work, upper and lower control arms are a must. With the ET's and the stick shift I could cut a 1.8x or 1.9x 60' on occasion, which for a stick car isn't horrible.

RED09GT

Equal Opportunity Offender
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
First off, manual or automatic?

For the Mickey Thompson line of drag radials; ET street S/S is the most street friendly tire for a big power street car and can hook well at the track, the ET street radial Pro is a class racing tire that you don't want to run on the street if someone even has a sprinkler nearby that is getting water on the road, and the regular ET street R gives you almost as much traction as the Pro but is still somewhat streetable in good weather.