2005 Gt Rallycross build

OutlawEvans

forum member
Reaction score
Hello, Hi there, thank you for checking out my dumb but great idea. This section mentioned autox so I figured this was the right place.

Anyways a bit about me. I've been doing this sport for about 6 years
AwufEii.jpg

Bought this POS to play with
Qwk1tsE.jpg

Stripped it out, caged, suspension work, welded diff, yadayadayada but stock power plant and drive train. 180k and kicking. Super fun car
0qVtU5z.jpg

sOOKVaE.jpg

Been drifting this car for about two years doing almost 2 events a month. Super reliable, buuuuttt I want to go racing now, actual timed fun stuff. And ever since Colin McCrae rally racing games I've always loved rally racing. So a little digging I found about 3 hours away at Glen Helen there's regular Rallycross events, did some more digging and found this

https://blog.americanmuscle.com/2016/08/16/customer-spotlight-the-rally-mustang/

Bad AASSSS. So now I've decided to go this route, so commence goals and build list.

Goals.
2019 Get minimum modifications fitted on mustang and test on dirt, see if it's even a good idea. If so commence more modifications and practice events.
2020. Have mustang built to my liking and bugs worked out, go for the Cali rallycross glen helen championship of 6 events, two races are dropped in the year. If funds allow also go for the California regional rallycross championship of glen helen, santa rosa, and prairie city.
2021 Compete in scca rallycross national championship, keep building the car
2022 onward, get car setup and start doing stage rally events.

Minimum build list for rallycross
Bilstein HD Struts (Suspension advice appreciated)
GT500 strut top mounts
Go back to stock shocks to sit higher
Winter driving or Light passenger Truck, or Gravel tires. More research is needed

Long run Rallycross build list
Rallywheel Setup. Methods, OZ rally wheels, motegi rally wheels, ect. whatever fits with my chosen tire path
Fabricate a skid plate