Clacking noise when taking off or driving slow at low rpms(manual)

Mad Elliott

Reaction score
Hey, I've been having a clacking noise on my 06 Mustang GT w/ manual trans. The best way I can describe noise is a metal sounding repetitive clacking that only happens when driving slow at lower RPMs (1500-2000 or so) and when taking off slowly. Sounds like it's coming from underneath the car (could be wrong) and performance of the car doesn't seem affected at all, no noise at higher RPM's and the car will still shit 'n get on demand. I've read several other posts but none seemed to describe exactly what I'm experiencing. Any help would be much appreciated. Could it be something to with the clutch, vct, or timing tensioner? Btw this is my first post, I've been using this forum for about 2 years (since I got the car) but only recently made an account. I have used this forum to solve other problems but this one I'm being more thorough with because the clack sound is pretty concerning. I'm leaning towards it having something to do with the clutch but I'm really not sure, there's no other symptoms and I'm pretty good about not riding the clutch. Idk if I would consider this another symptom but I think there's an exhaust leak I need to check and get it fixed, I didn't think that would be related though but worth mentioning. Car has 124k miles on it.

Mods(that I'm aware of from previous owner): BBK cold air intake, catback flowmaster exhaust, potentially a tune(91?)

I think it's worth mentioning that I didn't have any problems until I moved to Phoenix, AZ from Tulsa, OK. I drove the car 1,100 miles in one day. No immediate problems from the drive though, it's just the atmosphere is very different here, it's very dry and hot compared to Oklahomas mid temp humid climate so I was wondering if a tune could cause any issue because the air being so different here.

Mad Elliott

Reaction score