2013 GT suspension plan - please help?

martin_nj

czesc!
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm very new to V8s and Mustangs but not so new to the track.

I've run Lime Rock, Summit, NJMP and Beaverun (now known as Pitt International)

I just bought a 2013 GT and need to fix the awful suspension it comes with from the factory. Well, it isn't awful around town, there it is wonderful, quiet and smooth.

Knowing full well that I will have to pay for performance in both money and NVH, what mods do you suggest to help on the track and which increase NVH the LEAST ?

I have a 2013, GT, 3.73 gears and a tech package. Base stereo, cloth seats, 18" all season 235 tires, base level brakes.

Thanks!
-Me

Sky Render

Stig's Retarded Cousin
S197 Team Member
Reaction score
The stock suspension is far from awful.

What are your goals? What handling characteristics are you trying to change, improve, or modify? What is your budget?

My first suggestion is to get rid of the crappy all-season tires and depleted-uranium stock wheels.

Sent from my toilet using Tapatalk.

martin_nj

czesc!
Reaction score
you're right it is far from horrible - it grips very well

i would like to improve its transitions. i haven't had it on track yet but on the street

1) the dive and squat makes it harder to give it quick inputs and have the car ready for your next command.. how to explain it - you ask it to brake it does so but then asks you to wait while the body finishes the braking/diving.

2) on the highway emergency lane change maneuvers really don't inspire confidence.

i do realize i will have to drive this car a bit differently and i don't want to turn this into a go-kart per se... but i do want to get the body roll under control (and hopefully not lower my overall grip traction)

for budget i would really like to keep it under $1500 not including wheels and tires and brakes. strictly suspension bits

Conekiller

forum member
Reaction score